New UEFA President- Aleksander Ceferin beats Michael van Praag

Slovenian Aleksander Ceferin has been voted in as the new UEFA President after beating Michael van Praag 42-13 in Athens today. Ceferin, president of the Slovenian FA since 2011, takes over from Michel Platini and will serve as UEFA’s President for the rest of the former’s term (till 2019)

Ceferin said he would look into reforms that guaranteed Europe’s top leagues four confirmed spots in the group stages of the Champions League from 2018-19 onwards

The English FA voted for Van Praag while the Scottish FA cast its vote for Ceferin.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.