Two Legged Bundesliga Promotion-Relegation Playoff History & Results- Winners & Teams since 2008-09

The German Bundesliga introduced its promotion-relegation playoff system in 2008/09, where in the third place team from the 2.Bundesliga (second tier) would take on the third from bottom team (16th) in the Bundesliga.

Has the Bundesliga team always won its playoff tie?

Interestingly, since its introduction, only 2.Bundesliga teams have won their playoff ties- one was Nuremberg in the inaugural 2008-2009 season and the other was Fortuna Dusseldorf, who beat Hertha BSC in the 2011/12 season.

In every other season, the Bundesliga team has retained its spot for next season

Check out the table below that details all playoff games since 08/09

SeasonThird from bottom Bundesliga Team3rd in 2.BundesligaWinner 
2008-09Energie CottbusFC NurnbergNurnberg
2009-10FC NurnbergFC AugsburgNurnberg
2010-11Borussia MonchengladbachVFL BochumBorussia Monchengladbach
2011-12Hertha BerlinFortuna DusseldorfFortuna Dusseldorf
2013-14HamburgGreuther FurthHamburg
2015-16Eintracht FrankfurtFC NurnbergEintracht Frankfurt
2016-17WolfsburgEintracht Braunschweig

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.